School me on Bulleit

Discuss any bourbon related topics here that do not belong in a forum below.

Moderator: Squire

School me on Bulleit

Unread postby flintlock » Sat Nov 20, 2010 8:16 pm

I'm new to bourbon, and have just finished my first bottle (not counting many bottles of TN whisky). I bought a bottle of Bulleit and absolutely loved it. I'm trying to educate myself here, and have searched some regarding Bulleit, and I found that there are lots of people who don't like it. I thought it was great. I understand it's a whisky the constituents of which are apparently changing - with more or less Four Roses in it?

Can you sort of start my education by orienting me to what Bulleit is, and where it ranks in the hierarchy of things?

My next bottle is Russell's Reserve 10 yr, and I also love it, but find it much much smoother. I like the salty buttery punch of Bulleit and this is lacking in Russell's, which is much more refined, although of course excellent.

Not sure where I'll go next - might try some of the "great cheap" whiskies like Elijah Craig.
flintlock

Re: School me on Bulleit

Unread postby kickert » Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:04 pm

Bulleit is generally considered one of the higher rye bourbons on the market. It is bold and fiery compared to most of similar proof. The original bottlings were all produced by 4 Roses, but the general understanding is that it is starting to get more juice from other places.

IMHO it is great for the price, but certainly isn't for everyone.
kickert

Unread postby gauze » Sat Nov 20, 2010 11:35 pm

salty bourbon? I don't think I have tasted anything salty in bourbon before ... anyway bulliet is "ok" from trying it once, I don't thing it's nearly the best at it's price point.
gauze

Unread postby cowdery » Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:39 pm

Bulleit was started by Tom Bulleit probably 15 years ago now and was made originally by Buffalo Trace. He created Bulleit primarily to export it to Japan.