A Bourbon to Represent America

Discuss any bourbon related topics here that do not belong in a forum below.

Moderator: Squire

A Bourbon to Represent America

Unread postby maxgebhardt » Sat Jan 11, 2014 6:35 pm

Hello All,

I was always a scotch man, maybe a result of a half-Scottish father and growing up in the NYC area, so I am new to bourbon. I finally had my first decent bourbon not too long ago while visiting friends near the North Carolina/Tennessee Border and was pleasantly suprised. I also happen to be a Foreign Service Officer in the Department of State currently posted to a European embassy and would like to find a nice bourbon to stock for representational events at my home and as gifts so that I can serve guests something truly American, especially since our usual embassy provided end of year gratuity is Johnie Walker Black, so it would be nice to actually have a gift from America... If you had your choice of one bourbon to represent America, what would it be?

Looking forward to some suggestions!
maxgebhardt

Re: A Bourbon to Represent America

Unread postby gillmang » Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:22 pm

I would go with Evan Williams Black Label. First, it is very good. Second, it is not expensive and from a watching-the-budget stance, works well. Third, the family that owns it is American, it is not an internationally-owned business. Eg. as mentioned elsewhere today in the forum, it looks likely that Jim Beam will be sold to a Japanese company. Wild Turkey is owned by Campari of Italy. Old Forester is also a possibility, from U.S.-owned Brown-Forman. If you do that one, make sure it is 100 proof though, the full name of this iteration is Old Forester Signature.

Evan Williams Black Label is a more moderate 86 proof and factoring all with all, is a better choice though (IMO).

Gary
gillmang
Vatman

Unread postby 393foureyedfox » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:09 pm