bottle recommendation?

Discuss any bourbon related topics here that do not belong in a forum below.

Moderator: Squire

bottle recommendation?

Unread postby Agalloch » Thu Dec 26, 2013 6:55 pm

I'm somewhat new to bourbon tasting. I've been intro craft beer for a while but I thought it would be interesting to try some different bourbon's because whisky has always tickled my fancy. Now, I've tried a few: Jim Beam Black, Knob Creek, Woodford Reserve and Old Forrester and I've found I really enjoy old Forrester. I'm not the greatest at picking up on scents and tastes of the bourbons but I like how thick and bold the Forrester tastes. Woodford is tasty aswell and seems to have a little more complexity and I like that but I think the Beam black is just to thin and straightforward. The knob creek isn't bad but doesn't taste dark or bold enough for me. I'm looking to pick up a new bourbon to try for the new year, I'm think something with a thick mouth feel, some vanilla notes and a little complexity is what I'm looking for. If you've got any recommendations post away.
Agalloch

Re: bottle recommendation?

Unread postby myackanich » Sat Dec 28, 2013 12:47 pm

I suggest you try Wild Turkey 101 or Four Roses.
myackanich

Unread postby RandyG » Sat Dec 28, 2013 9:54 pm

Rare Breed :mrgreen:
RandyG

Unread postby 393foureyedfox » Sun Dec 29, 2013 2:15 am

from your post, I suggest getting a Knob Creek 120 proof Single Barrel Reserve.

about $35-40 and much more depth, flavor, and proof than the 100 proofer, without being all alcohol heat. Its one of my top ones!
393foureyedfox

Unread postby Bob Barker » Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:08 am