Im leaving Kentucky, need some reccommendations

Discuss any bourbon related topics here that do not belong in a forum below.

Moderator: Squire

Im leaving Kentucky, need some reccommendations

Unread postby cas560 » Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:54 pm

Hi all,

Ive been living in Louisville for the last year working a temp job, and now I am relocating. Im a relative newbie when it comes to bourbon but Ive had my fair share this year (probably too much, but that's another topic). Im moving to Pennsylvania to start another job and I want to take bourbon with me. Pennsylvania has state liquor stores and most carry the usual suspects (Knob Creek, Bookers, Bakers, Four Roses etc). Im looking to buy stuff that you cant get easily outside of Kentucky. Maybe some barrel strength or special edition. Im starting a bucket list of affordable bourbons (~60$ and under). So far I have...

1. Rowans creek
2. Noah's Mill
3. EH Taylor small batch
4. Four roses Barrel Strength (2013)
5. Johnny Drum
6. Jefferson's Presidential
7. Willet pot still
8. Elijah Craig 20
9. Stagg (if I can find it)

Wont attempt to spend time chasing down any Van Winkles.

Thx.
cas560

Re: Im leaving Kentucky, need some reccommendations

Unread postby EllenJ » Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:05 pm

How far will you be from New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, or New York?
And have you given any thought to reinforcing the springs on your car? :wink:

Pennsylvania's state-owned liquor stores are world-renowned for their lack of selection, although some stores are much better than others. You can get a list of which state stores carry the less common brands, either online or at any of the liquor stores. You can also get nearly any brand made in America if you order a case of it (or at least you could; I've heard that's no longer correct). The biggest bummer is that few, if any, legitimate internet shippers will deliver to Pennsylvania (but that's true of Kentucky, too).