new Scotch whisky regulations

Love bourbon but still enjoy an occasional foreign whisky pour as well? Discuss some of your favorites here.

Moderator: Squire

new Scotch whisky regulations

Unread postby silverfish » Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:23 am

According to John Hansell,

The Scotch Whisky Regulations (2009/2890) represent a definitive
statement on the definition and presentation of Scotch Whisky. Full
details of the new law can be found here.

The key provisions of the new law include:
Five categories of Scotch Whisky are defined for the first time; Single
Malt Scotch Whisky, Single Grain Scotch Whisky, Blended Malt Scotch
Whisky, Blended Grain Scotch Whisky, and Blended Scotch Whisky.

These compulsory category sales terms will be required to appear clearly
and prominently on all labels.

A requirement to only bottle Single Malt Scotch Whisky in Scotland.

New rules to prevent the misleading labelling and marketing of Single
Malt Scotch Whiskies.

A ban on the use of the term ‘Pure Malt’.

A ban on the use of a distillery name as a brand name on any Scotch
Whisky which has not been wholly distilled in the named distillery.

Protection of five traditional whisky regions of production; Highland,
Lowland, Speyside, Islay, and Campbeltown.

A requirement that Scotch Whisky must be wholly matured in Scotland.

Clear rules on the use of age statements on packaging.

Designation of HM Revenue & Customs as the verification authority
for Scotch Whisky.
John Q.
Visit the Silverfish Gallery!
User avatar
Registered User
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:45 pm
Location: Western NY

Return to Scotch Whisky

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests